November 29, 2017

Civility Cup


Past Winners:

2015: Sophia Cooper

2016: Trevor T. Jones

2017: Madison Lawrence

The Communication Studies program at Frostburg State University will award its 4th Civil Citizen Communicator Award this May 2018. This award will be given to a student who has demonstrated a commitment through word and actions to civil communication leadership within an organization or community. This person should demonstrate communication competence, leadership capabilities, and an awareness of and responsiveness to issues of civility that impact others. This award aligns with the mission of the Communication Studies program and Frostburg State University to support oral communication competency of FSU students, and it supports regional communication leadership through efforts linking the campus to community partners.

Do you know someone that fits this description, someone that is committed to changing our society for the better? Is that person you? If so, submit nominations for Civil Citizen Communicator Award. A formal deadline will be set for April 2018. A panel of external reviewers will determine the award winner, and public award announcement will be made before the May 2018 graduation. Each award winner’s name will be etched on the Civility Cup (pictured above), which is displayed in an award case of the Department of Communication in the Gira Center on FSU’s campus.

Nominate a candidate or yourself by emailing Connie Capacchione, Administrative Assistant of the Department of Communication, at  Nominations should include:

a) the nominee’s full name, major(s)/minor(s), and intended graduation date;

b) a brief rationale (500 words or less) supporting why the nominee fits the criteria of the award above; and

c) additional support for that nomination (written documents, photos or videos of speeches or events, promotional materials, letters of acknowledgement, etc.).

If you have any questions regarding the award or nomination process, please contact Dr. Elesha L. Ruminski, Associate Professor of Communication Studies and coordinator of Leadership Studies and the Communication Leadership Lab, at